jump to navigation

School Year Wrap-Up May 19, 2009

Posted by Laura in Family, Homeschooling.
trackback

As the days get longer and warmer, children (and teachers) all over start getting antsy for the end of school.  Homeschoolers are no exception.  Each May we look forward to those events that signal that summer is rapidly approaching and mark the accomplishments of the term.  Last Tuesday was the last class day in our enrichment program, last night we had our art show, and today was Field Day.

From the Art Show

RachelArtFrog5-18-09

Rachel’s lovely watercolor frog.  She is a frog lover like her cousin Sarah Elizabeth.

BenjaminArtShip5-18-09

Benjamin took Oil Painting this year.  This is one of our favorites.

RachelArtFruit5-18-09

A colorful still life Rachel cut out in her mixed media class.

BenjaminArtHorse5-18-09

This includes an interesting reflection and could be displayed this way or upside down.

From Field Day

B3LeggedRaceII5-19-09

I love the classic drag-your-partner, win-at-all-costs going on to the left of Benjamin.

Rachel3LeggedRaceIII

Rachel3LeggedRaceIV5-19-09

Rachel was quite happy with this ribbon because 3 is her favorite number.

BenjaminSackRaceIII5-19-09

The “Pillowcase Race.”  I distracted him so Benjamin was slow getting out of the gate.

RachelSpoonRaceIII5-19-09

I only saw one child cheat and hold the ball on the spoon with his finger while running.

LydiaSnowCone5-19-09

Lydia may have been too young to compete, but she didn’t miss out on the best part- Snow Cones!

Comments»

1. butterflymomma - May 19, 2009

looks like fun and amazing artwork!!

2. Beck - May 20, 2009

I wish I had the ability to paint beautiful pictures like my grandchildren. They really have a lot of talent. I am so proud of them. Looks like Benjamin loves the Revolutionary War period that I love to read about. The love of frogs must be genetic with my granddaughters. Yuck!

I love the fun races they had during Field Day. I sure I would exceed in the Snow Cone Eating Contest. Looks like a lot of fun had by all that day.

3. Marci - May 20, 2009

Wow, they paint really well. I am glad that Lydia got to take part in the very important snow cone eating contest. 🙂

4. Brandy Knopp - May 21, 2009

Okay. I am really impressed with your children’s artwork! They obviously have more talent with art than I do! I wonder how my kids will shape up in that regard….

5. Dreamer - May 21, 2009

Looks like you all had fun at the field day. Wow, the Ben’s oil painting of the boat is wonderful. I really like Rachel’s orange too, I like abstract art and bold colors.

Happy to hear there are other frog lovers. The frogs are going crazy around our house right now, “singing” us to sleep every night. We have one that hangs out on our deck. The girls got to see him and touch him. He’s only about a 1-2″ long. We were surprised when we found him that the BIG noise we heard was coming from such a little frog!

6. Grams - May 22, 2009

I LOVE the art work.
You will have to build more walls in your house for display!
I can see where all the talent got shifted.
Keep at it!!!
Love, Grams


Leave a Reply

