jump to navigation

Cloth Diapers February 13, 2009

Posted by Laura in Family.
trackback

Back before the children came along,  I used to quilt.  I really enjoyed it but I just don’t have the uninterrupted time or undisturbed space to do it anymore.  Recently I’ve become interested in using cloth diapers to save money, but also so we produce less trash.  This led me to decide it was time to break out all those cute fabrics I had purchased to quilt with and put them to another good use.  Here are some pictures of the ones I’ve completed so far.

watermelondiaper2-12-2009 jellybeandiaper2-13-2009

happyfacediaperii2 peanutsdiaperii2-11-2009

frogdragonflydiaperii2-13-2009

I used elastic in the legs and the back and velcro closures.  I am considering trying snaps.  These are the “all-in-one” style that has a waterproof layer of PUL (it stands for “polyurethane laminate”, I think).  Some I have made with an open top so I can slide in an extra soaker layer, especially for bedtime.

Lydia doesn’t much care for the change, but I think it’s because she is aware she is wet now.  That was my other objective.  I want her to potty train soon and developing awareness is a first step.  I plan to make some in Timothy’s size soon.

Comments»

1. Brandy Knopp - February 13, 2009

I just have to comment and say that is REALLY cool! I am currently pregnant with my fourth child — all of them will be 5 and under! And we have gone through the diapers. I am not really into keeping cloth diapers clean, but I am interested in keeping our costs and trash down. GOOD JOB!!! — PS. I guess I would be considered a lurker on your blog. I read it often but have never commented before! 🙂

2. Dreamer - February 13, 2009

Very cute. So do you use a regular diaper underneath and then this is a waterproof wrap, or is this the actual diaper?

You know, I saw a site a few months ago that has a pattern for sanitary napkins!

3. Laura - February 13, 2009

Thanks for the encouragement, both of you!

These are the actual diapers, with no cover needed. They have a dark cotton print, then a layer of flannel plus a “soaker” layer made from an old towel sewn to the flannel, then PUL, and the outside is another cotton print (shown in the pictures). I think I am going to have to try snaps because the “soft sew” kind of velcro I’ve tried so far doesn’t have much holding power. When Lydia wiggles around, it just pops open. She has to wear pants with them right now- they’d come off under a dress. That may be because I don’t have the fit quite right yet either, though.

I am finding that most kids’ pants these days weren’t designed with the bulkier cloth diaper in mind. Not all her pants will fit over these, but she’ll wear regular diapers when we go places anyway.

A downside is that these diapers take more than one cycle in the dryer to get thoroughly dry. I hope to get a clothesline up soon and these will be the first things I put out. Sunshine and fresh air should be good for them.

4. Marci - February 14, 2009

Great JOB!!!!! You ought to check out http://inashoe.com/. She has been making different kinds of cloth diapers.

Hi Brandy!! Fancy meeting you here!!!

5. Grams - February 14, 2009

Laura …
I LOVE the diapers!
Great idea … and of course I am happy to see you sewing, again.
Luv, Grams

6. Lindsey Carney - February 15, 2009

Those are so cute and cool, good job!

7. Kathryn - February 15, 2009

I love your designs! Definitely try the snaps. I change cloth diapers on a baby in our nursery at church and my preference is for the snaps. They stay better. Also, there are several snaps across the front of the diaper for adjustable fit as the baby grows. Good luck with potty training Lydia. I believe that it is my least favorite job in child rearing. Thankfully I’ve just got one more to go!!

8. Laura - February 16, 2009

I appreciate all the encouragement and info!

I’ve about decided that I’m going to have to use a diaper cover with these diapers. The PUL fabric may be waterproof, but moisture is still wicking out of the legs and over the top. And I think that Lydia can hold it so long that when she wets, it just can’t be absorbed fast enough. I knew by switching to these I’d be increasing my laundry load, but I wasn’t bargaining for 3 or 4 outfit changes too!

I’ve cut out some more Peanuts and Buzz Lightyear patterns for Timothy now. Can’t wait to see them finished. I’ll post some more pictures in a few days.

9. Mike - March 1, 2009

Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

_________________________________
Making Money $150 An Hour

10. Sheryl - March 2, 2009

Laura, I remember when you used to quilt. You did several of them and just sort of taught yourself. I wondered if you ever intended to get back to it. These diapers are cute. I love your pictures. Hope you get the final prototype soon.
Love you!

11. Michelle Braisted - June 22, 2009

Hi Laura,
Kathryn sent me your link a while back and I was browsing through emails and had time to look you up. My sewing/quilting is slow these days. I’m sitting in my project room now looking at an unorganized mess and thinking “who could be creative in here?”. The diapers look fun – though I’m glad to not have diapers anymore. Matthew will be a freshman and Andrew in 5th. Are you gardening? We have a small garden and the zucchini and tomatoes are doing well. Hope you are well, Michelle

12. Susan - September 14, 2009

Hey! Those look wonderful! i’m handy at some things, but had to buy my cloth diapers, i could never get the hang of it!

Anyway, just wanted to say–you could sell thouse, you know! And–I’ve used snaps and velcro, and while I love velcro for the ease of the diaper changer, it’s also easy (and makes that cool noise!) for the diaper WEARER to pull the tabs open. The other drawback to cloth (I used for three children in as many years) is that when washed a lot,t he velcro gets linty and funky. Even if you always attach the tabs before washing, it gets linty over time, and frankly, there will be times when the velcro must be left open after an especially messy diaper.

Anyhow–those are my 2 cents, but they really do look great! I am impressed!


Leave a Reply

