jump to navigation

It’s a Parade! November 26, 2008

Posted by Laura in Family, Homeschooling.
trackback

Unlike children, adults actually enjoy quiet “boring” moments when no one is talking.  I’m a stay-at-home, homeschooling mom whose husband travels a lot so I get my fill of “quality time” with the children.  I was having one of those “I need a sanity break” moments today and I thought I had figured out a way to get one.

After a quick salad, I put the toddler down for a nap, strapped the 15 pound infant into his “frontpack,” and left the older children finishing their lunch.  I thought I would get a little exercise and have a few moments of solitude walking in our driveway without anyone making demands of me.  I put on some Chris Rice music and headed out the door to be alone (okay, at least with only the infant, but that’s something).  It was not to be.

Our driveway is a hair under 1/4 mile long from end to end with the house being at the crest of a slight hill.  The driveway is paved which makes it great for walking, bike riding, etc.  I headed out on foot to try and work off some baby weight.  I had hardly made it to the toolshed before two dogs joined me.  They jostled me and each other trying to get their heads up under my hands to be petted.  After acknowledging them both with pats and compliments I continued on.  Another 100 feet and two cats came barreling past me, quickly throwing themselves onto the pavement immediately in front of me and rolling onto their backs to have their bellies scratched.  I obliged and continued on.  At about that point, I picked up a small herd of goats who paced me from their side of the fence giving me the rough side of their tongues for not bringing treats.  I spoke to them by name and made my apologies for the oversight.

I managed to make it to the mailbox without tripping over any cats who continued to do their speedbump impressions right in front of me (never have I met felines who accompany humans on walks, but this is frequent with them).  I herded the dogs away from the street and started back up the hill.  When I got to the barn, I picked up a flock of about 25 chickens.  They assumed that my general heading toward the henhouse meant they would get fed again and they swirled about my ankles as I walked.  As I neared the house, the bovine bellowing began and the cows picked up the pacing where the goats ran out of fence.  Just to make the picture complete, both Benjamin and Rachel were on the porch waving me down when I reached the house.

So goes the life of a homeschooling, farming woman.  It’s certainly never lonely.

Comments»

1. Marci - November 26, 2008

I bottle raised a lamb. Her name was Mary. I usually called her Velcro. I would walk to the mailbox each day and the dogs would go with me, the cat would go with me and the lamb would go with me. The lamb would stop and nibble. Then she would look up and see that I had actually gotten more than 10 feet away from her. She would come running and slam into my leg and stick like velcro for several steps and then stop to nibble again and it would happen all over. Our cat drives me nuts. I don’t like cats, but he is always trying to trip me up.

2. Dreamer - December 8, 2008

I can just imagine your walk. Very funny! Although probably not at the time.


Leave a Reply

