jump to navigation

Fall Church Outing October 8, 2008

Posted by Laura in Family.
trackback

Our children LOVE church!  Before they had a good sense of days of the week, Benjamin and Rachel used to wake each morning and ask hopefully if today was a church day.  Sunday is about the only day that Lydia willingly gets in her carseat.  All I have to say is “Let’s go to church and play with friends” and she’s out the door.  That says a lot about the fantastic children’s ministry and nursery.

This past Saturday, folks from church met at a local farm that had a corn maze, pumpkin patch, live music, blow up jumping toys, livestock, etc.  We had a lot of fun.  Here are a few pictures.

This cute little train was made of plastic barrels and pulled by a 4-wheeler.

All the children enjoyed this airplane see-saw.  Lydia was quite reluctant to give up the cockpit, though.

Lydia chose the hay maze over the can’t-see-anything corn maze.  She had a good time going through from one end and then backtracking to the beginning.  Of course, it’s also nice that if you make a wrong turn, you can just go over the walls.

Just a moment to rest before she headed back to the playground area.

The “corn crib” was very popular with all the children.

The only hiccup to the day was the unsolicited comment from a stranger that I got before we left.  A woman walked up to me and told me I certainly was huge (gee thanks) and asked how many I was having.  When I told her one, she said, “Well, it looks like you’ve got 4 or 5 puppies in there!”  What in the world possesses people to say whatever comes to mind to pregnant women?!  Seems like if I can sensor myself in spite of no sleep, backaches, contractions, and the like that strangers could at least make an attempt.  I was telling our pastor’s wife about the comment later and we decided that next time I should just pretend to burst into tears and wail.  Seems fitting.

Comments»

1. Becky - October 9, 2008

Looks like a BIG kid in the back seat of the train’s orange car! He seems like he is really enjoying the fall outing.

I love the hay bale maze for the little ones. I’ll have to mention it at our church.

I’m just sorry Timothy didn’t arrive sooner so I could have gone to the farm and had a day of fun.

I’m so sorry about the stranger comment. Gives new meaning to the phrase “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything”. Guess her mom didn’t teach her that.

Love to all, Beck

2. Dreamer - October 9, 2008

Looks like you all had a great time. I’m looking forward to going to the pumpkin patch with my family this Sunday after church, if the weather holds. Great pictures!

I told hubby last night that I wish we lived closer because I knew we’d be fast friends. He assured me I could find a friend like you right here in my own neighborhood, but I know that can’t be true.

Timothy’s due date is fast approaching. I can’t wait to see the first pictures of your new precious baby.

Our family will be getting a family picture done soon. I’ll be sure to send one your way.

Take care!
Dreamer

3. Marci - October 9, 2008

Lydia is getting SO big. I am sorry about the comments made by someone. Just know that you are BLESSED beyond words to be in that shape. Tell them Marci said so!!!


Leave a Reply

