jump to navigation

Well, It’s Finally Happened… August 8, 2008

Posted by Laura in Family.
trackback

For the first time this pregnancy, a total stranger asked me if I was having twins.

We needed a few things from a store, so the whole family ran in together. The greeter at the door (with whom I have never had a personal conversation before) asked me the usual twins question.

I smiled and said, “No.”

She said, “Just a really big one soon?”

I smiled again and said, “One big one, but not for 3 more months.”

She laughed out loud and said, “No, there’s just one behind the other in there and they couldn’t see them both, but that’s twins!”

I just smiled.

My dear husband tried to make it better. He said, “But isn’t she adorable?”

He’s a keeper. Bless him, he really does mean it.

This outfit is kinder to me than the one I was wearing that day. I may get rid of that other one! 🙂

Comments»

1. Kathryn Richards - August 11, 2008

Laura, You look great! Just think how big you’d be if it really was twins. lol! Love ya! Kat I’ll have to send you a picture of my huge belly.

2. reeska - August 11, 2008

Ugh….I had someone at my old church that used to hound me at every service about having twins. They said the SAME thing to me about one baby hiding behind the other. Then they bought me some more maternity clothes at a consignment store because I’ll “be growing a lot more at the end with my twins.” The clothes were hideous too. (And never worn.) 🙂 But I guess that’s better than the person who told me I needed to install a beeper because I was getting as big as a garbage truck. He was lucky we were in the sanctuary……

For whatever condolence this is: I think that you look good! 🙂

3. Dreamer - August 12, 2008

I think you look radiant!

If it is any consolation, I had a co-worker ask me when I was 6 months pregnant with Hannah if I was “about ready to drop that calf”! He’s lucky he was an old man with a cane or I might have “dropped” him! Never compare a pregnant woman to a cow or a whale or any other mammal that calves their young.

Reeska, that garbage truck comment about made me spray a mouthful of tea on the monitor.

4. Laura - August 13, 2008

Well, thanks everyone for the encouragement and compliments. I have to admit that even I am wondering if I will have clothes that fit by the end of this fifth pregnancy. I’ve got a stack of things that won’t go around me anymore.

When I was pregnant with Lydia, a cashier at Tractor Supply Co asked if I didn’t yet know what caused this state, seeing as Lydia was the fourth. After I delivered and was back in for more chicken feed, a different cashier told me that he was relieved to see the baby since he was sure every time I went in that I’d go in to labor right there. And the best part about that comment was that he never offered to help me load my 50 lb bags even though he feared imminent childbirth on the premises. Interesting company policies, huh?

A few weeks ago, when I went in there to get just one bag a man hurried to get in front of me to check out with a fan belt. I should mention that I was carrying the heavy bag since there were no carts handy. The man didn’t even move his fan belt up so I could set my bag down on the counter. He then proceeded to chat up the cashier while I stood there waiting. Forget chivalry- what happened to common courtesy?

An elder at church asked me if I shouldn’t be getting on to the hospital now and another lady came around a corner and suddenly said to me, “What happened to YOU!?” And her daughter had just had twins!

Oh well, petite in pregnancy I am not, but it’s all worth it when I get to hold them. I’ll wear my badges of motherhood, especially these awful varicose veins, with gratitude for my blessings!

5. reeska - August 14, 2008

I probably would have put the bag on his fan belt or been rude enough to comment on his rudeness. But, of course, I’m a little bit of a pain sometimes….. 😉


Leave a Reply

