jump to navigation

Three blinks August 4, 2008

Posted by Joe in Family.
trackback

Many years ago when I turned 21, my dad took me aside and told me to cherish the days and not to wish them away looking too forward to the future. He told me that I before I blinked three times I would be 40, married, and have kids of my own that were growing up too fast.

I remember thinking to myself that Christmas and my birthday couldn’t come quickly enough each year, not to mention the end of each semester of college! What is true for my father, I thought, is not necessarily true for me.

But I must have blinked three times somewhere along the way. This year I turned 40. I am very happily married to a wonderful and Godly woman. I have 3 great kids that I haven’t been able to convince to stay 5 years old forever. And I have another child on the way. Did I ever blink!

What got me thinking of all this was something innocuous enough. For three years now, Benjamin has wanted to help mow the yard. Of course, he would want to help. What boy wouldn’t want to learn to drive a lawn tractor?

Mower1-2008-08-03

But to his great disappointment, he hasn’t been able. The mower has a kill switch underneath the seat so that if you get (or fall) off, the engine stops. Benjamin hasn’t been heavy enough to keep the pressure switch depressed.

But it hasn’t been for a lack of trying. He’s asked to try it again every few weeks for the past three summers, hoping that this time may be the time when he’s finally able to keep the mower running. Each time, he got off the mower dejected.

That is, until this week. Saturday afternoon, we had our regular “Can I try today?” conversation. You should have seen his face when the mower didn’t turn off as he pressed the accelerator. Pure joy was in his eyes!

I was happy for him. Finally something he’s been wanting so badly for so long has come to pass. Plus, Laura and I get a little help mowing the yard!

But at the same time, I’m a little…saddened, I guess, by yet another milestone that has flown by. Another blink.

And I know that it’ll only be another blink or two and I’ll be warning him on his 21st birthday not to blink.

Yet, like I did at his age, he’s eagerly looking to future. And who can blame him?

Mower2-2008-08-03

Comments»

1. Amy - August 4, 2008

Little ones sure do grow up fast, a little too fast, can’t they just stay little forever:-D I have 4 nieces and they sure have grown so much over the years and don’t know what the next addition to the family is yet but will know soon!

2. Marci - August 4, 2008

This is SO true. I blinked and the only one God gave me is 24 and getting married. I am facing an empty nest and I praying for God’s grace to walk that path. I am not ready for it.


Leave a Reply

