jump to navigation

Our 6 year old wordsmith May 12, 2008

Posted by Joe in Family, Farm.
trackback

Rachel loves to help. She loves to lend a hand in the garden, in the kitchen, and with the animals. We’re very blessed with her giving nature in this way.

But she has another God-given gift that is not very commonplace. She’s very tactful in her speech, and not just for a 6-year old either. Her natural bent toward considerate phrasing can rival the skills of those many years her senior.

Yesterday, for example, she was helping me feed the broilers – those chickens we’ve raised to be meat for our family. Afterward as we were walking back to the house, I was chatting with her – really just spending time and making small talk. I told her that we’d already processed just over one-half of the 33 broilers we’d raised, leaving 15 more to harvest.

That’s when it occurred to me. I could introduce a little basic math into the conversation. So I said “I think we can finish these 15 in two more days, probably processing 8 in one day and 7 the next.” I paused to let it sink in a little. “Or may 10 one day and 5 the next. Or even 9 and 6.”

To which she responded “Well, I’m sure you’ll make the right decision when the time comes.”

That’s our Rachel!

Comments»

1. Becky - May 12, 2008

With tact like that, we may have a future Condoleezza Rice, Margaret Thatcher or Madeline Albright in the making. I’m not sure I would wish that one anyone!

I am so thankful that you’ll are posting sayings like this and the high humidity inside the blister on this blog to save them…..they are priceless!

2. Marci - May 12, 2008

Sounds like she is a real blessing!!!

3. Grams - May 14, 2008

A very smooth side step.
No doubt enhanced by her gentle Southern roots!
It will take her far.
Luv, Grams


Leave a Reply

