jump to navigation

Treehouse, Stage 1 April 11, 2008

Posted by Laura in Family, Farm.
trackback

Ever since we moved here, we’ve planned to build the kids a great treehouse. We are blessed with so many beautiful huge old trees and the children love to be outside. We’ve been planning and dreaming about it for a long time, but finally we’ve gotten a good start.

The “blueprints” call for taking advantage of an odd intersection of tree branches that fused together to create a kid-sized opening. The main treehouse will eventually be up there, but that’s 12 or so feet up. The first step was to build a fort-type landing about 7 feet up that would also serve as a mini playground set.

(The previous owners pointed out this interesting formation and mentioned that they too had planned to put a treehouse here).

Amid re-fencing projects, new chicken tractors, animal husbandry, travel for work, and so on, we set the posts for the landing last fall. We managed to get the platform put up too before the weather turned and other things demanded our attention. Recently, we’ve gotten back to work.

(So far, this fort/landing has been a submarine, a house, a space ship, and who knows what else).

The kids eagerly watched and helped as Joe installed a ladder and slide. He then got a railing around it so they could begin using it.

Finally, Lydia’s swing was added so she can play too.

Comments»

1. Marci - April 11, 2008

What a wonderful tree to have. I love the pictures of all your children having fun, but those pigtails in the last one get the prize!!!

2. Dreamer - April 14, 2008

What a cute baby! I can tell she and Faith would be fast friends. 🙂 (All the kids are cute, but those chubby cheeks…I’m a sucker for chubby cheeks and legs…oh, and dimples too!)

3. Cathy Holland - April 21, 2008

What a marvelous website you have. Is this what Joe does for a living? I never was sure. I visit every month or so just to check on you guys. If you could, just for me, do a couple of different shots of the house from the outside so I can show my friends and save them on my computer. We have so few of our own for some reason. It would mean so much. May be coming up the drive. Shots of the ponds, etc. God speed. Give my love to the Brother Mike and Ms. Debbie, and all my other brothers and sisters in Christ. Enjoy the Home Coming. I’m afraid I will only be there in spirit.

4. Cathy Holland - April 21, 2008

Well, what a goober! As I browsed March I saw absolutely gorgeous pictures of the house and the ponds. That works for me!


Leave a Reply

