jump to navigation

Cheated Children January 17, 2008

Posted by Laura in Family.
trackback

Middle TN tends to get most of the snow it’s going to get between mid-January and Valentine’s Day. Typically, there are about 3 snows that will actually cover the ground entirely and then a few more dusts. Occasionally, we will get a 6 incher, but usually there is just enough to pelt each other with snowballs, make some snowmen, and sled ’til our lips turn blue.

Last night, as we drove from town, snow was really coming down. You couldn’t use high beams or you’d blind yourself from the glare. By the time we got home, the grass was hardly visible and you could actually run and slide on the driveway. The kids were ecstatic. I wasn’t sure they’d ever go to sleep.

But alas! When they awoke this morning, not a flake! A 33 degree front came through and rained their precious snow away during the night!

nosnowkids01-17-08.jpg

Here are a couple of pictures from snow days past:

benjaminsled01-12-06.jpg

wipeoutrachel1-12-06.jpg

See what I mean about sliding on the driveway?

Comments»

1. julie - January 18, 2008

Hey,
Your kids had the same look as my kids yesterday morning! I have to admit I too had the same look. I was prepared for a great day of sleding, but to no avail. I am sure we will get snow some time this year, but I am starting to grow weary in the wait. Have a great day!!
grace and peace,
julie

2. chickenmama - January 18, 2008

I enjoyed reading your posting on homemaking. I meant to comment, but got interrupted (bet you can’t identify with that, huh? 🙂 ).

You can’t tell well from the size of these pictures, but in that last shot, Rachel ISN’T on the ground by choice. She was trying to navigate the icy patch WITH THE DAYS’ EGGS and her feet came out from under her. No injury (besides broken eggs) fortunately. I was trying to get a picture of the house and trees and caught her fall too. It also amused me to see that 4 year old Rachel has her boots on the wrong feet because she put them on herself. I love these kids!!

3. Marci - January 18, 2008

Aaawwww…. that first picture is pathetic. What sad, sad children. Tell them to pray for snow, that is what my son used to do. =)

4. Amy - January 18, 2008

Poor babies! They can come to my house, we have a couple inches on the ground. And by the looks of the weather forecast, it’s not going to melt any time soon. We may even get more snow on Monday. Hoorah!

5. jipmeister - January 19, 2008

THEY were saying we were going to get about 6 inches or so this past week…we only ended up with about 3 or so….on top of what was already there!!! I would say you could send the kids on up here for some sledding but there is only one hill within about 30 miles LOL
THAT is the ONLY thing that makes all this mess ok with me (at least for now anyway) – my kids are getting to do things they’ve never had the chance to do before – snowboarding, sledding, ice fishing, hockey etc – windchill is WELL below zero up here this weekend –
YIKES!!!
The kids do that pitiful look VERY well!! LOL


Leave a Reply

