jump to navigation

Meet Lacy and Gloria December 5, 2007

Posted by Joe in Farm.
trackback

You’ve met the donkeys, the goats, and many of the poultry that call our little slice of creation home, but I’ve been remiss in making a proper introduction to the bovines  – though their reputation proceeds them to some extent.

You may remember that within 24 hours of taking possession of the heifers, they decided to broaden their horizons and left home for a week. Alas, the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.  Fortunately, a friendly neighbor noticed that our two girls had joined his herd and he returned them to us. Read the complete story here.

The girls seem to have gotten over their rebellious phase, now. They are are gentle and even come when I call them. Sweet feed works wonders when bribing a ruminant for their affection – well affection may be overstating it a bit, you get the point.

So, without further ado, allow me to introduce Lacy.

And her half-sister Gloria.

They are strikingly beautiful heifers, though some people claim that all cows look like simpletons.

Our plan is to allow them calve when they are old enough. Any female offspring they produce will be used to grow our herd organically. Males offspring will serve, or more aptly, be served, in another way – with a baked potato and side salad.

Comments»

1. Becky - December 5, 2007

Looks like the beginning of a fine herd (someday). Your comment about male offspring and how they will be served reminded me of a statement Robin made when she was either 7 or 8 years old. When I see cows I think of big brown eyes and soft noses. Robin had other thoughts.

She was sitting in the porch swing at J and Granny’s looking out over the cows in the pasture. She made the comment “You know, J, there’s a lot of fine steaks walking around out there.”

Are they black angus? They look like they may be……a lot like that ceramic one I had got your your real grandfather from you on your first Christmas.

2. Marci - December 5, 2007

I am glad that they are settling down for you. They are good looking!!

3. Joe - December 6, 2007

They are black angus, though not registered. Their father is registered and comes from a very good line. Their mother is not registered.

We bought these from some close friends from church. They’ve been well cared for and “were very gentle and well behaved.”

Someone once told me to beware of someone trying to give you a “good” dog. Guess the same can apply to cows too. 🙂

We’re glad to have these now that they’ve calmed down again. And we’re looking to grow the herd as soon as these are old enough.

4. Laura - December 8, 2007

I was a mental holdout on cows- I like to be able to love on any animals we acquire. Joe kept telling me that beef cattle would never welcome my affection. Also, my experiences had led me to believe that they are dumb enough to be considered generally dangerous. Their first days with us confirmed my suspicions, as they were wilder than any cows I’d encountered. I didn’t think it was possible to have a stampede of two, but they managed!

They have since gentled quite a bit- sweet feed will do that. 🙂 Unbeknownst to them, I’ve petted their heads while they eat. I’ve yet to wrap them up in a big ole bear hug, but I’m sure it’s coming- hee hee.

I’ll reluctantly admit that I’m getting kind of attached to them and find myself looking out the window to see where they are, what they’re doing, and if they need more hay. I’d stand guard to keep the chickens out of their food if it would help. (There’s a little “dumb” showing through- 600 lb animals allowing themselves to be bullied by 5 lb animals, while fearing the humans who brought the food). My goal is to get them to eat out of my hand and knowingly let me touch them by next summer. I’m on my way.


Leave a Reply

