jump to navigation

Giddy Goats September 13, 2007

Posted by Laura in Farm.
trackback

Snap! Crackle! Pop! and ‘Mator are now about 7 or 8 months old. They’ve still got a lot of “kid” (pardon the pun) left in them. We’ve been on the lookout for a big cable spool for them to play on. It’s kind of the equivalent of a goat jungle gym. I spied one outside the local electric co-op recently and I had to grab it! (Did I mention that I was in the minivan with several cartons of ice cream when I saw it? And the spool was too large to fit inside the van? And I couldn’t load it by myself anyway? I called Joe and he and Benjamin drove the 15 miles to come get it in the “farm truck.” Oh, the lengths we will go to for these silly critters!).

bhammergoattoy8-07.jpg

The next day at lunch, we got it unloaded and ready for the goats to use. We nailed some shingles onto both ends to help wear down their hooves when they played on it and to keep the wood from rotting as quickly. Then I had the idea to “walk” the spool to the pasture. But credit for the idea is about all I get because I couldn’t stay up and I’ll spare you the pictures of me trying.

joeongoattoy8-07.jpg

Joe however was a natural.

matorpopontoy8-07.jpg

The goats had to thoroughly check this new thing out.

popjumpontoy8-07.jpg

But they soon got the hang of it.

goatsontoyi8-07.jpg

And Pop! is not above shoving her friends off and then looking down on them. She LOVES to be Queen of the Mountain!

Comments»

1. Becky - September 13, 2007

When I was growing up, my father worked for the telephone cable so we had access to the cable spools. I think ours must have been larger because we would take a hatchet and knock out about 4 or 5 of the core slats and climb in. There were metal rods that you could put your toes behind and hold on to another one with your hands. That way, one person could ride inside and another person would walk the spool (standing on the thin sides) from one end of the yard to the other.

Unfortunately, I remember, a boy who was a neighbor of mine and I were playing this “game”. Charles was inside the spool and I “walked” him from one end of the yard to the other and back. He wouldn’t get out and let me “ride”. It was my turn. I really tried to get him to get out. He still refused. He “made” me turn the spool crossways in the yard and I pushed the spool down a slight hill toward a pine thicket. Thankfully, he wasn’t hurt to badly. I was after my mother figured out what happened. I will say that the next time I told him it was my time to do something, he gave in.

Oh, the crazy things we do when we are young. I am just so glad that we have a Heavenly Father to watch over us when we do dumb things.

2. Marci - September 14, 2007

We had those for our goats as well. We got several sizes and put them just a bit apart from each other. They loved to play king of the mountain. It was so fun to watch. You can put a flat piece of plywood in your goat yard and they will fight over who gets to stand on it.

3. Amy - September 14, 2007

How much fun. I used to walk barrels (55 gal drums) all over the yard, even down hills (that was really fun). I don’t think I could do it any more. Your goats seem to enjoy the cable spool as much as Joe. 🙂 And oh, that Pop! I think I like her.

4. chickenmama - September 15, 2007

Marci,

We just got a couple more spools today and one is smaller than the others, so they’ll make great additions to the “playground.”

Amy,

It didn’t seem like it would be as hard as it turns out to be. And I wasn’t even pretending to be graceful- I was just trying to stay upright.
BTW, tell your husband that we’re going to save Pop’s first offspring just for you! Won’t he be excited!?!

5. Amy - September 18, 2007

You have to know, I’m dragging Daddy down the path to agrarianism kicking and screaming. Not really, but close.

When I start talking about chickens and goats he just looks at me like I’m out of my mind. Pop! would put him over the edge for sure. I’m chuckling just thinking about it.

Really, Daddy would like to farm (400+ acres) like his grandpa did but doesn’t believe that’s possible anymore. I’m thinking “farm” on a much smaller scale. Now, if we had some land he would like to have a few beef cows. What is it with men and beef?


Leave a Reply

