jump to navigation

Why We Homeschool, part 2 August 21, 2007

Posted by Laura in Faith, Family, Homeschooling.
trackback

After I resigned from teaching, I made a concerted effort to do all those things that I said I wanted to do, if only I could. I wanted to parent in an intentional way, not just get through each day. I wanted to create worthwhile memories and begin habits and traditions that we’d be grateful for later. I certainly didn’t live up to the standards I had set for myself, (especially once colicky Rachel came along), but it was an improvement.

One of the things Benjamin enjoyed most was the “Together Time” he and I had many weekdays. It frequently involved book reading and some sort of art. We occasionally completed pages out of a preschool letter identification book or learned colors names. He so looked forward to those times when he had my undivided attention and I sat beside him while he colored or “read.” He would beg to do more or have Together Time on the weekends, too. He was also so proud of himself that he could show Daddy what he had done. It was really a wonderful experience for all of us.

When he was older, we enrolled him in preschool and Together Time pretty much fell by the wayside. We still read books and such each night, but the special time set aside to be an intentional, active part of his learning was lost. Kindergarten rapidly approached.

Years prior, when we had found out I was pregnant with Benjamin, we had moved to The Right Place (the county which had the best reputation with regards to its public schools). We intended to enroll our children in those schools and volunteer at every opportunity. I foresaw myself as “room mother,” PTA president, and such. I had no intention of homeschooling ever. I had gotten my degrees in teaching and had invested heavily in the idea that traditional schooling was THE path children should follow to become knowledgeable contributing members of society. Wasn’t homeschooling really just for the kids who had significant learning disabilities or lacked the social skills necessary to succeed in a group setting? Most children I had known while teaching that were pulled out to homeschool fell into one of those two categories. The rest, as best I could determine then, were taught at home because their parents had extreme ideas about education that didn’t mesh with the mainstream.

So, in the fall of 2004, Benjamin began Kindergarten in the local public school.

Comments»

1. Amy - August 21, 2007

Da-da-da-DUM! You’re keeping me in suspense. It’s all so exciting. :0 I’ll be waiting on pins and needles for the next installment.

2. darkwoodfarm - August 22, 2007

This is such a sad story. I can’t wait for the happy ending.

3. Sheryl - September 1, 2007

I always thought the same thing about homeschooling, too. Until you decided to home school. Now the association in my mind has changed to that of folks who want to make sure their kids actually get educated and well-rounded. Some kids slip throught the cracks in school, even private ones. I feel like I did. It took us a while to realize I needed glasses and couldn’t see what was written on the chalkboard. And it bothers me now very much that I had a few (too many) elementary school teachers who obviously didn’t like children, and, in retrospect, didn’t really like teaching either. And the class was always directed by the most vocal kids, even downright outspoken. Yeah, I’m glad for B & R’s sake that you’re homeschooling.


Leave a Reply

