jump to navigation

The white deer – mission accomplished July 18, 2007

Posted by Joe in Farm.
trackback

Shortly after dinner the other night, Laura glanced out one of the living room windows and spotted the albino deer, again. So, as it’s come to be a habit for me, I grabbed the digital camera and set out on a quest to get a good picture of this solid white, almost glow-in-the-dark, deer.

I left the porch and made my way to the nearest tree in our yard. As  crouched down beside the old oak tree, dressed in office attire, my good-humored family was watching from inside our farmhouse, amused by my attempts to quietly move from tree to tree without being noticed by the deer.

It was not superb stalking abilities that afforded me these close-ups. And it certainly wasn’t my outfit – though, I would have been nearly invisible in a mundane departmental meeting in some office with wall to wall cubicles. No, it was a matter of location, location, location. The buck came within a 50 feet of our hen house. He even started playing around a bit with the some of the chickens.

So, I finally got close enough, under cover of the chickens, to the elusive, yet seemingly ever-present, great white deer to snap a few pictures at close range. Mission accomplished. Now I can find a new habit to fill my time. 🙂
 

Comments»

1. Laurie - July 18, 2007

WOW!!! That is absolutely amazing. I think that is one of the neatest things I’ve ever seen. YAY for you for getting the shot!!

2. Amy - July 18, 2007

What a beautiful animal. Unfortunately not very well “coordinated” with his environment. I seem to remember hearing about some Native-American legend concerning a white buffalo on a long ago vacation to South Dakota. I wonder if there is any such lore surrounding a white buck. I don’t believe in such things but find cultural differences interesting non the less.

3. Marci - July 19, 2007

Great pictures. Perseverence pays off!!!

4. Jeremy - August 6, 2007

Thats one AWESOME DEER. A wildlife photographers dream!!!!! Kudos to you. I am curious, is this an Alabama deer?

5. Joe - August 6, 2007

No, we live in Tennessee, northwest of Nashville.

Laura and I joke that the other bucks probably send him out first to see if there are any hunters around since he’s so brightly colored. But the joke is on them since albino deer are protected in our state. But I wouldn’t think of trying to harvest him. He’s a sight to behold.

6. The Great White Deer Becomes the Great White Ghost « The Farm Chronicles of Blessed Acres - September 13, 2007

[…] followed our blog for any length of time, you have no doubt noticed our fascination with an albino deer that has frequented our little neck of the woods.  He was just beautiful and so striking to see in […]

7. Albie Returns « The Farm Chronicles of Blessed Acres - October 24, 2007

[…] October 24, 2007 Posted by chickenmama in Family, Farm. trackback Remember the albino deer that graced our property for many months?  After his unfortunate demise, we assumed we’d […]

8. johnny - November 1, 2007

there is a white deer near my house. it is also a buck but is a little smaller. i live in tn. it sure is a sight to see.

9. kylie - March 12, 2008

white till deer


Leave a Reply

