jump to navigation

Meet the Flock, part 5 June 22, 2007

Posted by Laura in Farm.
trackback

The wee babes we received in February are growing up.  They have full feathers and now forage freely with the “big chickens.”  The new ones have fallen right in line with the older ones and follow me around the yard like I’m the Pied Piper, hoping for handouts.  There are some interesting personalities, plumage patterns, and habits in this batch.  One standout is Roxanne.

I can only guess it is the position of the sun in the sky that the chickens use to know when it is 4:30.  Somehow- though they keep an eye out during the rest of the day and are prone to keep me company in my chores- come late afternoon I am completely unable to walk across the yard through the masses of feathered bodies.  The unique sound of running poultry makes me smile.

As I try to navigate the 25 yards between our house and the henhouse, a hundred or so chickens try to keep right at my ankles, yet beat me and all the others to the feed cans.  Roxanne has a different approach.

When I get to the cans, she flies from the back of the crowd and lands on my head.  No respecter of hairdos is she.  I am learning to dodge at the last second now so that she can light on my shoulder instead.  It’s cute and endearing to me, but I may have a hard time getting volunteers to take care of the critters while we are away now.  It IS slightly reminiscent of an Alfred Hitchcock movie.

roxannewilsononhead6-16-07.jpg

(I had just removed Roxanne, an Ameraucana chick, from her favorite roost when Wilson decided to give Roxanne’s idea a try.  Better view of dinner.  From there, Wilson dove directly into the feed- you’ve gotta admire a girl who goes after what she wants).

Comments»

1. amazinggrazefarm - June 25, 2007

I wouldn’t want them in my hair either. Cute picture though.


Leave a Reply

