jump to navigation

Creative Cuisine May 14, 2007

Posted by Laura in Family.
trackback

Benjamin turned 8 on Friday and, to celebrate, we had his favorite meal-  Build Your Own Dinner.  The basic idea is to create interesting sculptures using a variety of foods into which you can stick toothpicks.  The only rule is that you have to eat what you make.  Here are some of our creations.

dinosaur5-11-07.jpg

(A T-rex).

ferriswheel5-11-07.jpg

(A Ferris Wheel).

airplanei5-11-07.jpg

(A submarine).

thingamajig5-11-07.jpg

(A thingamajig-  Rachel is more of an abstract artist).

stegosaurs5-11-07.jpg

(A stegosaurus).

airplaneii5-11-07.jpg

(An airplane).

strongman5-11-07.jpg

(A strongman).

cannon5-11-07.jpg

(Hard to see from the distance and angle of the picture, but this is a cannon and a pile of cannonballs. Notice that one cannonball has just been fired and is mid-air).

funnyface5-11-07.jpg

(This guy reminds me a bit of Mr. Noodle on Sesame Street).

We had a lot of fun and it was a good birthday.

Comments»

1. Grams - May 15, 2007

Yum, yum!
Very creative supper. Good ideas.

I like the strong man and the thingamagig.
Luv,
Grams

2. ruralmama - May 17, 2007

What a terrific idea. We’re hitting a rough spot with meal times and our almost three year old son. This actually might help out. Thanks for the idea!

3. joy - May 23, 2007

wow, you must be the best mom ever!!!

4. Laura - May 23, 2007

Oh, you are SO very kind (thank you), but so wrong!

I fall very short in a myriad of ways, most notably patience and selfishness. We try to maintain a positive blog, focusing on the best of this life that God has given us, but sometimes I fear it gives a false idea of what day to day living is like- as if I may glide around the house all put together in heels and pearls like June Cleaver. The complete opposite is far more often accurate and I would hate to have anyone compare themselves unfavorably to this false notion of us. I have sometimes toyed with the idea of starting my own personal blog (in addition to our “farm” blog) about the real life challenges of being a mommy, teacher, and small farm manager, but honestly know I couldn’t find the time to keep it up. I doubt I have much profound to say, but I wondered if it would help me be more reflective and deliberate in what I do.

It is the exception that I put myself out that much with regards to creativity and effort (it was a birthday dinner, so I managed to find it in me that night 🙂 ). By that time of day, I more likely try to hurry my children through eating whatever I decide to fix so I can (hopefully) have a little solitude to unwind before bed. We homeschool, so the kids are with me nearly 24/7. Since we don’t have to make the bus at 7 am, we also aren’t very good at “normal” bedtimes and as I type, I can hear my children still giggling in their room. Oh well, so much for peace and quiet! 🙂


Leave a Reply

