jump to navigation

Locks of Love April 30, 2007

Posted by Laura in Family.
trackback

Rachel and I have been ready for a change.  Long hair has its advantages- you can always pull it up in a ponytail when you don’t have time for anything else and you don’t wake up looking like Einstein- but it can also be a hassle.  It’s hot, takes a long time to dry, and can be a nightmare to untangle (especially if you are prone to eating PB & J’s with gracious plenty J and loose hair!).  The time had come to get summer haircuts.

I have a family member who survived cancer as a child.  While going through treatments, she lost her hair like many others.  Because of this, I became interested in donating my hair to Locks of Love.  This wonderful organization makes wigs for children who have lost their hair due to  a medical condition.

Rachel and I each had tresses reaching past the middle of our backs.  That allowed us to cut off the necessary 10 inches with some to spare.  We showed up at the salon with braids and left with bobs.  Here are some pictures, mostly taken by Benjamin.

pre-cut4-25-07.jpg

(Even though I have regularly trimmed Rachel’s bangs, she somehow got it in her mind that the haircut may hurt.  While she was eager to donate her hair, she is still a bit apprehensive here).

startcut4-25-07.jpg

(Still worried.)

newhaircuts4-25-07.jpg

(We feel downright “light and fluffy” post-haircut).

Comments»

1. Laurie - May 1, 2007

How fun! You look so good with short hair. Love it.

My 9-year-old is growing her hair for Locks of Love. It won’t be long before she’s ready!

2. jipmeister - May 1, 2007

I LOVE your hair cut!!! It looks GREAT!!!! rachel however…..looks a little older with this hair…we won’t go there!!!

I did almost call you and stop by on our way down to bama – we were about to hit Nashville with a couple of interchanges and it was 4:45 PM!!!! I decided to brave it because I was so DADGUM tired of driving!!! It wasn’t too bad actually in and out of Nashville by 5:30 or so …so I can’t really complain of course I didn’t move out of first gear most of that time but I rarely came to a complete stop so that was good!!!!

actually that big chicken is just before the Alabama line (for you heading down) small exit in the middle of no where!

email me will ya? I don’t have your email address in my gmail just hit the link from my blog

love ya!
D

3. Amy - May 1, 2007

OK, this is down right eerie. I had been growing my hair out for a while. Mostly because I didn’t know what to do with it. Then, about two months before my due date I decided it HAD to go. So off to the salon I went. It turns out that I had the 10 inches required to donate my hair to Locks of Love. Mine has really grown out a lot in already. It’s time for a new do again. Uggh! I really like the way yours turned out. Very pretty…both of you!

4. chris - May 2, 2007

Great pictures. Laura, that’s a great smile…

5. amazinggrazefarm - May 3, 2007

I have thought of doing that. I love the pictures. Especially the last one… Someone got hungry huh??? =)

6. chickenmama - May 4, 2007

You noticed! I mentioned to my husband that we probably should have cropped that one so that it wasn’t so obvious that I had a just-nursed baby in my lap. He said, “Yeah, I thought about that, but I was in a hurry when I downloaded the pictures. I bet no one will notice.” Oh well.

It’s amazing to me that all I have to do to prompt Lyddie to be hungry is sit down to eat myself. It doesn’t matter that she was fed 45 minutes ago- she’s hungry NOW. Hot food is overrated anyway, right?

7. Grams - May 6, 2007

More pix of Liddie, please.
Grams

8. Grams - May 6, 2007

I forgot to say that I LOVE the hairstyles
AND the girls wearing them. 🙂

9. Sheryl - May 12, 2007

Your haircuts are beautiful. (Notice how I didn’t say “flattering”. Nyuk Nyuk. Inside joke.)
I know it’s annoying that you can’t pull it back, but it really looks great. And for such a great cause.

10. Heidi - May 31, 2007

Your haircuts are awesome – you look great! Love your blog!


Leave a Reply

