jump to navigation

The porch swing March 8, 2007

Posted by Joe in Family, Farm.
trackback

Growing up, I spent quite a bit of time at my grandparents farm, most of my summers in fact. And on that farm we had a dog…Sorry I couldn’t resist. 🙂

Looking back, one of the things that I enjoyed (though I didn’t realize it so much at the time) was sitting on the porch. We’d sit on the porch after dinner most nights. We’d sit on the porch during the heat of the day to shell peas or shuck corn. We’d sit on the porch to visit with others who may have stopped by for a visit. The porch was a place to lazily pass time and enjoy a simpler life.

That’s one of the many things that really attracted us to the place where we know live. It’s got a big , deep porch. It’s eight feet deep and spans two sides of the house. It’s complete with rocking chairs and an old wooden swing. The picture on the top of the blog is of our porch.

It was far easier back then to find the time to sit on the porch than it is now. I think that’s one reason I love when it rains; it imposes a natural slow down. Maybe it’s God’s way of telling us to sit back, watch the rain, and enjoy the life He’s provided.

Comments»

1. Kathryn Richards - March 10, 2007

I love sitting on the porch when I come to visit. Porch sitting is one of my favorite pasttimes!

2. amazinggrazefarm - March 12, 2007

Our last house had a wonderful porch that we did lots on. That is one of the things that we would like to add here. We are not sure what is going to happen as of yet, we are waiting on God to show himself strong to us. We may have to move soon. We are trying to learn to rest instead of wrestle. =)


Leave a Reply

