jump to navigation

A handy update February 15, 2007

Posted by Joe in Family.
trackback

Just a quick update on my left hand. The physician who stitched up my hand on Superbowl Sunday told me to have them removed in 7 to 10 days. He said I could come back to see him at the Emergency Room to have them taken out, or better yet, have my primary care physician remove them.

Since I don’t have a primary care physician (and I know that I do need to find one since I’m turning 39 this year and you’re supposed to start doing things like that when you turn 40), I opted to return the ER and have the stitches removed there.

However, it doesn’t take a lot to realize that the ER is not really a place for non-emergency procedures like having stitches removed. An ER, of course, is going to call patients back to examination rooms based on their need, not first come first served. Makes sense; that’s the way it should be. But, that means I could probably expect to be sitting there in the waiting room for quite some time awaiting my turn with the physician.

So what do do? Tuesday was day 9 with stitches and they needed to come out.

Well, after a short while I came to realize that although putting stitches in takes a certain amount of training and skill, removing them probably is not nearly as difficult. So, I decided to remove them myself.

I borrowed some really sharp and pointed scissors from Be-Pops, and set out to remove my own stitches.

I asked the kids if they wanted to watch; they did. Benjamin even helped with the last three. I think he enjoyed it.

And no, I did not once consider screaming at the top of my lungs and collapsing into a pile on the floor as he pulled a stitch out. Well at least I didn’t seriously consider it….for long anyway.

As of Tuesday night, I’m stitch free.

By the way, Lydia did go to the doctor on Tuesday. She battling a common cold that’s keep her fairly congested. Nothing serious, but annoying to her and Laura since it means neither are sleeping well over it.

Comments»

1. Marci - February 16, 2007

Ah… another step into that God-reliant life style. Next time, you will have to put stitches in!!! =)

2. jipmeister - February 16, 2007

Oh my gosh! I caught so much grief from everyone for taking my stitches out of the same place in my hand…in fact I think YOUR MOTHER was one of the ones who gave me that grief!!!
I waited the full length of days and the nurse practioner had even given me a little curvy razor blade kind of thing to take them out…however it did open up again in one spot…but it would’ve done that even if the Dr had taken them out himself and it wouldn’t have closed up any more for leaving them in longer either…but I couldn’t convince anyone of that..We always took our own stitches out when we were growing up and just for the record Sam helped me and I did holler when she pulled one out and it was SO funny!! πŸ™‚
Ya’ll watch out with Lydia – there is so much of this congestion crud that is going around and won’t leave – it showed up here right after the holidays and hasn’t left yet!
πŸ™‚

3. Kathryn Richards - February 20, 2007

In seventh grade, my mother removed my stitches from my hand while we were on vacation. Welcome to the club!

4. Grams - February 20, 2007

Glad you let Benjamin help … you MIGHT have a budding physician coming along!
Grams


Leave a Reply

