jump to navigation

Like arrows in the hand of a warrior, so are the children of one’s youth. October 19, 2006

Posted by Joe in Family.
trackback

You know, I’ve been self-employed for 10 years now. Being self-employed can be stressful at times – you have to do everything yourself. You are the CEO, CFO, Project Manager, Sales staff, Travel Agent, and Janitor. When you’re self-employed, if it’s going to be done, it’s up to you to do it. That even includes the things that you end up outsourcing. And of all those job roles that I just mentioned, not one of them actually produces income. You still have to find time to actually do the work that generates revenue.

So every few months I re-evaluate whether or not I should get a real job. Working someplace with a guaranteed salary, where I can put in a 8 to 5 job and not bring the office home with me sounds very appealing at times. But I know that in IT, that kind of job is pretty hard to find.

But every few months for the past 10 years I’ve decided that being self-employed has too many advantages to give it up quite yet. And this morning was definitely one of those times when the freedom of being self-employed more than makes up for the accompanying stress and whatever downsides there may be.

You see, on Monday night, one of the other Cub Scouts allowed Benjamin to borrow his archery set. For various reasons, I haven’t been able to carve out time to let Benjamin shoot it – Tuesday night I was in a class until after 9:00pm and Wednesday night I didn’t get home from a client visit before it was too dark. Benjamin’s been very good about it, but I could definitely tell he was really eager to try it out.

So while working from home this morning, I took a break and we went outside for a little while to shoot some arrows. It made his day!

It’s simple joys like this that help me to keep my day job in perspective. And it’s moments like this that keep me self-employed.

arrows-2006-10-19.JPG

Comments»

1. Becky - October 19, 2006

Benjamin looks a though he has forgotten the days that it was too late for you’ll to practice archery. He is so serious in the first picture and his smile in the second picture says it all! Bet he has a bit of our Indian ancestry coming thru since he is so good with a bow and arrow.

2. Uncle Chris - October 22, 2006

Looking good, I’ll have to bring my bow home next time.


Leave a Reply

