jump to navigation

Reliable Producers August 4, 2006

Posted by Laura in Uncategorized.
trackback

We feel so fortunate to have so many mature trees already on this farm. We had at least 5 hundred-year-old pecan trees, several 30+ year-old walnut trees, three plums, a half dozen persimmon trees, and four apple trees when we moved here. We have since planted about 25 more, but it will be years before they bear fruit.

As I noted earlier, we lost the plums early this spring to pests. The walnuts and pecans seem to be setting a pretty good crop for the fall. The apple trees are all summer-bearing and have pretty, rosy fruits hanging from the branches. We did not spray the apples, but I am hopeful that we can at least make jelly from them. appleclose-up8-03-06.JPG

Gus, the ill horse we had for a while, LOVED those apples. He stretched as far as he could over the fence to treat himself. And MANY times, we used the ones out of his reach to coax him into some unpleasant medical procedure.

Even if the apples turn out to be sour this year, as far as the kids are concerned, those trees are worth their weight in gold as the best climbing trees.

sunflowerspread8-13-06.JPG

The only crop it seems we will harvest out of the “dove field” this year is sunflower. We planted hundreds of feet of beans, corn, and mangels (sugar beets used for livestock feed) only to have drought and deer wipe out all but the sunflowers. Okay, the unchecked weeds didn’t help either, but still, it’s a frustrating waste of effort.

Joe and I are reluctantly admitting that we cannot truly manage an acre and a half of garden space while he works full-time (as something other than a farmer) and I spend my summers pregnant. Next year, we plan to halve our “main garden” space and probably not plant a “dove field” at all. If all goes well with this pregnancy, I should have a 6-month old baby to care for next summer. That will only further curtail my gardening activities. We have a plan for what we will do with the other half of the garden space, but I’ll save that explanation for a future posting.sunflowerclose-up8-03-06.JPG

I love to watch the first rays of dawn make the sunflowers glow.

 

Comments»

1. jipmeister - August 4, 2006

I love these pictures…especially the sunflowers…somehow it reminds me of that trip to West Virginia a few years ago…although I don’t remember seeing a field of sunflowers there. ANYWAY…you have to know my reaction to seeing that white watermelon…..I have never been able to talk myself into eating a sweet potato because it is the wrong color so you KNOW I’d never be able to try that….what was that other hairy looking thing above that? It looked like cantelope on the inside but WHAT was up with the outside of that thing? Please don’t tell me this is what they really look like and they do something to it before they putting on the produce rack at the store to look all purty……I actually do like cantelope but this will be what I see from now on when I see a cantelope….
Sometimes as I read about your farm life I’m almost envious…but I have to be honest I’m really way too much of a wimp for that life…but I’m glad that ya’ll enjoy it….otherwise you’d be one miserable chick by now!!
🙂

2. chickenmama - August 4, 2006

Yeah, I’d forgotten about your “wrong color” food issue. Then I guess orange or yellow watermelons are right out too! 🙂

We have some purple, orange, yellow, white, pink, and striped tomatoes starting to produce now. Shall I ship you some of those? My mother thinks that a white tomato is just WRONG too. Haven’t tasted any of them yet. We started them from seed a little late this year, so we have had to be very patient while the regular, boring, predictable plants from Bonnie’s have churned out the produce.

About that melon- yeah, it’s strange. But not hairy. Warty. I knew you’d like that even better! It’s a Middle Eastern variety, I think. (I’m trying to be all multi-cultural and “tolerant” in my garden- hee hee). I think you can rest assured, though, that the grocery stores will not be carrying these unusual things any time soon. You can enjoy your produce with confidence that it is not unusual or exotic in any way. 🙂


Leave a Reply

