jump to navigation

The Coolest Spider In The World August 29, 2010

Posted by Joe in Animals.
trackback

Rachel came running into the house yesterday proclaiming that she’d found the coolest spider in the world. She wasn’t scared; she wasn’t even bothered by it. She just wanted to share with us her discovery.

I’ve seen this kind of spider before, but I wasn’t sure of its name. After a bit of research, we learned that it’s a Black & Yellow Argiope.

This is an actual picture of it. It looks to be preparing a meal that it’s caught in its web.

Comments»

1. Beck - August 29, 2010

I saw a spider a couple of weeks ago. It was huge. I could only see his belly but he was weaving a web and part of the web was a very straight zigzag line about 1/4 inches wide and about 5 – 6 inches long. The zigzag was perfectly straight and even. I was anxious to see where he went with the pattern but a day later, he had stretched it out into a regular web.

Because I was on my way to church, I had to come back in and get my camera. I’ve got a picture of it and the web in my camera to bring up there. I’m sure Rachel will enjoy seeing it, too. I’ve never seen a web like that one. It was so cool.

2. Joe - August 29, 2010

I remember you telling me about the spider that you saw. Did it look like this one?

3. Peter - September 1, 2010

We have these spiders in NC too. They are pretty shocking the first time you spot one. I love the zigzag pattern in their web.

There a big, new spider in our yard building a huge web each night. See: http://www.carolinanature.com/spiders/neosconacrucifera.html The web is near our driveway on the pole for the basketball court. The spider starts after dark and works furiously for almost two hours weaving the web. Then it sits patiently in the middle waiting for something to happen. I don’t know why but the web is gone in the morning. I imagine a bird flies through it trying to nab a spider-snack. It’s a very interesting cycle to witness.

4. Joe - September 1, 2010

Wow, Peter! That’s one mean looking spider! I don’t see how a bird would even come close that.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

